top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Language Union

In which countries can you use the language that you will learn through The Language Union?

Before choosing a new language to study, you may be interested to know how useful it actually is and where you can use your new skills.

The languages that our partner schools can offer are some of the most popular ones with hundreds of millions speakers worldwide.

Below, you'll find a list of all countries where each language that's offered is spoken. Please note that even if a language is considered as an official one, it doesn't mean that it is the most commonly spoken. Some countries have more than one official language/

English: Most people know that English is spoken in the United Kingdom, USA, Canada and Australia. There are however a long list of other countries that you might be surprised to see.

Europe: United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland & Malta

Caribbean: Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Bahamas & Guyana

Oceania: Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Samoa. Tonga, Solomon Islands,

Micronesia, Vanuatu & Kiribati

Asia: India, Pakistan, Singapore, Philippines, Sri Lanka, & Malaysia

Africa: South Africa ,Nigeria, Cameroon, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Ghana, Rwanda. Sudan, Botswana & Ethiopia

Spanish: Spain and perhaps Mexico are first thought of when thinking of the language, but you'll be able to travel in most of Latin and South America without any language barriers by speaking Spanish.

South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay & Venezuela

Central America: Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua & Panama.

Africa: Equatorial Guinea

Europe: Spain

French: Due to former colonies, French is spoken in many African countries. You'll also be able to use your French skills in Europe and in the Caribbean.

Europe: France, Belgium & Switzerland

North America: Canada

Africa: Congo-Kinshasa, Congo-Brazzaville, Côte d’Ivoire, Madagascar, Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Niger, Mali, Senegal & Benin.

Caribbean: Haiti

German: You cannot use your German skills outside of Europe, but there are actually 6 countries where it's an official language in the continent.

Europe: Germany,Austria,Belgium, Liechtenstein,Luxembourg & Switzerland.

Italian: This melodic language is spoken in few countries, but keep in mind that Italy has a population of roughly 60 million, so in terms of people speaking the language, there are many!

Europe: Italy, Switzerland & San Marino

When choosing a new language to learn, it's of course important to know the usefulness of it. However, it's also important that you like and enjoy learning it. Perhaps you like the sound or history behind a language more than another one. You may have friends or relatives from a certain country and would like to learn the language to communicate better with them.

Only you can decide what language is best suited for you, and The Language Union together with our partner schools are here to help you!

bottom of page